## MEETING MINUTES AD HOC COMMITTEE REGARDING REINSTATEMENT OF CITY ADMINISTRATOR POSITION MEETING APRIL 30, 2025

A meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee Regarding Reinstatement of City Administrator was held on April 30, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Municipal Building. Present: Mayor Paul Dwyer, Alderperson Nellie Pater, Alderperson Shawn Zabinski, Alderperson Dean Peterson, citizen member Christopher Popp, City Treasurer Justin Derhammer and City Attorney Penny Precour. Other individuals present: Alderperson Travis Scholze, Alderperson Richard Yarrington, Alderperson John Glenn, City Clerk Rebecca Weyer, Director of Economic Development and Zoning/SET Chairperson Nicholas Morales. The meeting was called to order at 5:32 p.m. by Mayor Dwyer followed by Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.

A presentation was made by Jay Shambeau of Innovative Public Advisors on the different forms of local government as well as the value of professional administration. Information was provided to the committee on the differences between Chapter 62 (Mayor/Council with creation of City Administrator) and Chapter 64 (City Manager). Mr. Shambeau emphasized, in part, that professional staff, in either form, know their role. Professionals oversee day to day matters while elected officials set policy. Members had an opportunity to ask questions. Mr. Shambeau provided a handout to the committee and indicated he would be available for communication to the City beyond the date of the presentation.

Agenda/action items for the next meeting were determined. Director Morales and City Treasurer Derhammer expressed the need for the committee to make a decision as to the best form of administration for the City and make a recommendation to the Council in May. The members were requested to review the materials previously provided on the various forms of government for discussion along with action items at the next meeting. Motion by Pater, second by Derhammer for the next meeting to be held on May 7, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. Motion passed without negative vote.

Motion to adjourn by Derhammer, second by Pater. Motion passed without negative vote. Meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Penny Precour, Secretary